Mother Of Dragons

Who doesn’t love Game Of Thrones? I’m a huge fan & Dany is one of my favourites. I painted this with Corel Painter 2018, using a variety of custom & new Thick Paint brushes, combined with different papers on random grain rotation. The new technology in 2018 has really uped the anti in digital painting, with Real Media & Thick Paint emulating traditional mediums so well its impossible to distinguish between the two. I find the ability to create my artwork digitally fascinating & have met so many amazing artists that feel the same.

Digital art is a very broad term for many genres of this new medium, & I feel the need for some defining categories. From graphic design, animation,  & character design to fine art, illustration & 3D, all falling under the term Digital Art, it’s understandable that people in general haven’t a hope of understanding the difference. There’s also photo manipulations- sometimes called photo bashing (esp in concept art world) & many photographers now offer photo painted portraits to clients…..but what does that mean!

Well, here’s what my digital art consists of- the rest I may tackle explaining at a later date.

I have a very cool computer, with a high end graphics card (vital for this work), combined with a Wacom Cintiq drawing tablet (like a giant iPad touch screen) that is sensitive to pressure. This is my canvas, with a couple of different pen stylus that have tilt, rotation & pressure settings that calibrate to the way I make a line or brush stroke as my brush/pencil/chalk/pastel. The programs I use are Corel Painter & sometimes PhotoShop, which have a multitude of different brushes which emulate natural media. The rest is pretty much the same as drawing in a sketch book, or painting on a canvas! Every line, & mark in my artwork is made by my hand…. the computer doesn’t paint it, I do. I don’t trace over photos or clone photos- it’s possible to do so in the programs I use, & many people do exactly that…..but that’s not how I create my art. I hope this helps you to understand, how personal & how much of my self goes into my paintings……I truly love my job.

‘I will be adding some video of this piece in various stages, so watch this space!

 

Leave a Reply

